Sephora Nail Polish: Formula X

Image

 

For Christmas, I got more than a couple of nail polishes as gifts but the one that I was immediately drawn to was one of the Sephora Formula X ones. This lovely colour right here, described by one of the sales ladies when I originally tried it on as holographic graphite, is called Hypnotize. I actually think it looks a bit darker in person as it does in that picture, but I couldn’t get a very good picture at all so sorry guys, but that’s all I can do! On with the review!!!

The colour is absolutely lovely. It’s one of my favourite colours that I own by far. A dark graphite grey in one angle yet a brilliant silver in another, it’s got a super nice shimmer to it and I don’t even really like shimmery nail polish. It’s dazzling, I can’t take my eyes off of it and I’ve consistently put it on 3 times since I’ve gotten it instead of trying out one of my other new colours. I seriously love it that much. It looks like metal. It’s sort of like gun metal grey but not. I don’t even know how to describe it! It’s technically holographic – hello Formula X collection – and it really does have a holographic shimmer to it, but I wouldn’t say it’s that strong. I’m currently not entirely sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. Either way, it’s pretty amazing, and the consistency is brilliant, not too thin not too thick, and it goes on really nicely. Like, super nicely. Another brilliant plus – it dries instantly. I’m telling you INSTANTLY. Completely dry to the touch, it’s super cool, even if you add another layer on pretty much immediately it’s still completely dry. And that extra layer? Not necessary, I think it just adds some depth. The product is one of my new favourites… I just wish it didn’t suck at the staying on my nail part. It chips really easily. I don’t even know. I’ll have just painted them, and 2 hours later, chip here, chip there.  The next day, it’s worn off the tips, just worn off of them. I won’t have done anything but shower and it’s rubbed away on the tips, I’ve never had a nail polish that does that to that extent, it kind of baffles me. I guess, if I added a top coat (I’ve been really super lazy) it would probably be a lot better, but I’m still kind of annoyed it’s that bad at staying on anyway. I mean, this isn’t some random drugstore brand, it’s Sephora! For $15.00 a bottle I want it to be AMAZING all around! But you win some you lose some, and this particular polish both wins and loses. 

Let me know if any of you have the same problem with some of the Sephora polishes, and I’ll update you when I try the next!

P.S. Hope you all had a wonderful holiday season. :)

Lissa xxx

One response to “Sephora Nail Polish: Formula X

  1. Pingback: Sephora Nail Polish: Formula X (Part 2) | lissabeauty

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

